Tags

,

It’s time for another round of obscure Disney films that no one else has heard of!  YAAAAAAAAAAAAY!

Make Mine Music is ANOTHER Disney package film of the 1940s.  It’s much like Fantasia, in that there are stories set to music, but instead of classical music, it is popular music.  (Package films were made because of budget concerns and the war, not because the company was particularly into them)

My introduction to this film came from another favorite VHS from my childhood which featured Lambert the Sheepish LionFerdinand the Bull, and Willie the Operatic Whale.  Willie’s short comes straight from Make Mine Music (under the title of “The Whale Who Wanted to Sing at the Met”) and is arguably the best part of the full length film.  Other shorts I had seen individually: Peter and the Wolf was shown to us in grade school and Casey at the Bat used to appear on the old version of the Disney channel (back when you had to pay extra for it and it actually played classic animation.)  What I’m saying is, the film is better in shorts than it is as a whole, and this film and I go way back.

I’m not going to pretend I know a lot about the history of the film.  I’m not going to pretend that I’ve watched its entirety more than twice.  I can’t make myself sit through the whole thing.  It’s no wonder why no one has seen this film and Disney kind of ignores this part of their history.  I love the Willie the Whale short (and fair warning, it’s kind of sad)….but other than that, I can really do without this film.

Instead of me rambling, here’s some GIFs!  Judge for yourself whether or not you want to watch it!

All the Cats Join In


Casey at the Bat

Peter and the Wolf


The Whale Who Wanted to Sing at the Met

